RLS http://reeflifesurvey.com Reef Life Survey Thu, 28 Jan 2016 05:05:04 +0000 en-AU hourly 1 http://i2.wp.com/reeflifesurvey.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/RLS-512x512-55c6ce72v1_site_icon.png?fit=32%2C32 RLS http://reeflifesurvey.com 32 32 RLS Sails Australia’s North – part 1 http://reeflifesurvey.com/hit-it-once-then-move-on-part-1/ Wed, 20 Jan 2016 03:17:35 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1881 The post RLS Sails Australia’s North – part 1 appeared first on RLS.

]]>
RLS Spain Surveys the Balearic Archipelago http://reeflifesurvey.com/rls-spain-surveys-the-balearic-archipelago/ Wed, 20 Jan 2016 03:01:49 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1900 The post RLS Spain Surveys the Balearic Archipelago appeared first on RLS.

]]>
RLS Annual Report 2015 http://reeflifesurvey.com/rls-annual-report-2015/ Fri, 27 Nov 2015 05:40:55 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1858 The post RLS Annual Report 2015 appeared first on RLS.

]]>
Thermal Bias of Marine Fauna: the Latest RLS Article in Nature http://reeflifesurvey.com/thermal-bias-of-marine-fauna-the-latest-rls-article-in-nature/ Fri, 13 Nov 2015 02:28:57 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1818 The post Thermal Bias of Marine Fauna: the Latest RLS Article in Nature appeared first on RLS.

]]>
A Big Day for RLS http://reeflifesurvey.com/a-big-day-for-rls/ Mon, 09 Nov 2015 09:25:27 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1804 The post A Big Day for RLS appeared first on RLS.

]]>
Eviota http://reeflifesurvey.com/eviota/ Mon, 05 Oct 2015 23:16:10 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1627 After intense storms committed the original RLS dive boat, “Reef Dragon” to a watery grave, RLS welcomed a 20 metre catamaran from the U.S.A. as their new survey vessel. Recently christened, Eviota, has four full bunks, two bathrooms and ample space for cooking and data entry. I met Eviota while she was docked in Cairns after completing […]

The post Eviota appeared first on RLS.

]]>
Discovering Change Through Strategic Observation http://reeflifesurvey.com/discovering-change-through-strategic-observation/ Sun, 04 Oct 2015 23:54:45 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1597 The post Discovering Change Through Strategic Observation appeared first on RLS.

]]>
RLS Spain Gets Airborne http://reeflifesurvey.com/rls-spain-gets-airborne/ Sun, 04 Oct 2015 23:52:24 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1587 RLS Spain has really taken off
....and in more ways than one. Reporting 300 completed surveys, with at least two replicates per site, the Spain group has also expanded their efforts to areas off Northern Africa, Portugal and the Canary Islands.

The post RLS Spain Gets Airborne appeared first on RLS.

]]>
Reef Life Survey in Nicaragua http://reeflifesurvey.com/reef-life-survey-in-nicaragua/ Thu, 20 Aug 2015 01:59:01 +0000 http://reeflifesurvey.com/?p=1074 (FFI) have started RLS in Nicaragua, gathering a team of recreational divers and FFI staff for training in RLS methods during a 12 day field campaign on the Pacific coast in March. German Soler and Rick were there to train an incredibly keen (and very humorous) local crew, initiated by FFI’s Chelsea Combest-Friedman and supported by Oceans 5. Eleven volunteers, including seven divers, were trained and 22 sites added to SE Nicaragua.

The post Reef Life Survey in Nicaragua appeared first on RLS.

]]>
Ningaloo Reef Trip Report by Tom Davis http://reeflifesurvey.com/ningaloo-reef-trip-report/ Tue, 18 Aug 2015 06:48:41 +0000 http://rls.lowcostwebsites.com.au/?p=581 Through generous support from a Western Australia State Natural Resource Management Project grant, RLS was able to complete another successful survey trip on Ningaloo Reef. The 2015 RLS expedition to Ningaloo started on 24th July with the team’s arrival at the Coral Bay research station on a cold and wintry night. Twelve team members (Rick, Tom, Nicola, Margo, Ben, Tim, Sophie, Kirsty, Kevin, John, Paul, and Jen) quickly familiarised themselves with the local setup, and diving commenced the next morning.

The post Ningaloo Reef Trip Report by Tom Davis appeared first on RLS.

]]>